Tūranga, the new Christchurch central library designed by Schmidt Hammer Lassen Architects and Architectus

More information

Lead Design Architect.- Schmidt Hammer Lassen Architects.
Principal Collaborating Architect.- Architectus
Structural Engineer.- Lewis Bradford Consulting Engineers Ltd Cultural Consultants.- Matapopore Charitable Trust
Christchurch City Council.
Main contractor
Southbase Construction.
Winner of contract in an international competition, 2013.
Completion.- 2018.
9,500 m².
60 Cathedral Square, Christchurch Central City, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand.
Adam Mørk.

Architects Schmidt Hammer Lassen

Schmidt Hammer Lassen Architects was founded in Aarhus, Denmark, in 1986 by architects Morten Schmidt, Bjarne Hammer and John F. Lassen. Today, the practice has grown substantially and employs 150 staff. The group of partners has also grown and now includes Senior Partners Kim Holst Jensen and Kristian Lars Ahlmark, Partners Chris Hardie and Rong Lu. In addition, there are six associate partners and seven associates. Day-to-day management of the practice is the responsibility of CEO Bente Damgaard.

The practice has extensive global experience in the design of libraries and other public and cultural landmark buildings including the Katuaq Cultural Centre of Greenland in Nuuk (1997), the extension to the Royal Library in Copenhagen (1999), ARoS Museum of Art in Aarhus (2004), Halifax Central Library in Canada (2015) and the largest public library in Scandinavia, Dokk1 in Aarhus (2015). Aside cultural buildings, our works have a democratic approach to architecture creating modern, open and multi-functional spaces such as The International Criminal Court in The Hague (2016) We pride ourselves on projects which interact with their urban context placing particular emphasis on the surroundings and social context like Malmö Live, a Concert/Congress/Hotel centre in Sweden (2015), Ningbo Home of Staff in China (under construction) and Christchurch Central Library in New Zealand (under construction).

Awards. WAF mixed Use Award 2016/ Governor General’s Medal in Architecture in Canada/ Public Library of the Year Award 2016/ A+Award 2016/ Årets Bygge 2016/ Architectural Review MIPIM Future Project Awards 2015/ World Green Design Product Award 2014/ RIBA National Award 2013/ RIAS Award 2013/ LEAF Award 2011 to name but a few.

Ray Brown, Colin Odbert, Ruth Wilson... Architectus

Architectus is an award-winning Australian architecture and design studio specialising in arts and culture, community, commercial, education, interiors, residential, transport, urban design and planning. Their insightful and humancentric design approach is combined with a collaborative ethos to create unique places that are exemplars of elegance, function and sustainability. They operate as a single studio with creative teams based in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Adelaide and Perth and have designed and delivered some of Australia’s most complex and important cultural buildings.



Our selection