Community Central Pavilion: A pavilion to remember the fragility of matter

More information

TO (Jose G Amozurrutia and Carlos Facio), LANZA ATELIER (Isabel Abascal and Alessandro Arienzo), Alberto Odériz.
Alejandro Palafox, Úrsula Rebollar, Paul Ino; and the teams of Juan Manuel Escobar and Francisco Escobar.
Design Week 2018, Arch Days CDMX, Échale a tu casa, Pienza Sostenible, Reconstruir México, #LoveArmyMexico, Fundación Origen, Fideicomiso Fuerza México.

Isabel Abascal, Alessandro Arienzo. Atelier LANZA

LANZA Atelier is an architecture studio based in Mexico City and founded by Isabel Abascal and Alessandro Arienzo, in 2015. LANZA has been nominated for the 2016 Ibero-American Architecture Biennial Award and the Mies Crown Hall Award for Emerging Architects, IIT Chicago 2016. The study also received an Honorable Mention in the Competition for the El Eco Museum Pavilion 2016 and is one of the winners of the Architectural League Prize 2017. LANZA’s first solo show is taking place at SFMOMA from March until July 29, 2018.

Isabel Martínez Abascal graduated as an architect from the Universidad Politécnica de Madrid. She studied at the Technische Universität in Berlin and at the Vastu Shilpa Foundation in Ahmedabad (India). She collaborated with the studios SANAA (Tokyo), Aranguren and Gallegos (Madrid), Anupama Kundoo (Berlin), and Pedro Mendes da Rocha (Sao Paulo).

She has been a design studio professor for six years in the Faculty of Architecture and Urbanism, Escola da Cidade, in Sao Paulo. She has participated as faculty at the 24th International Workshop of Cartagena, at the Ibero-American Biennial in Medellin 2010, at the International Seminar of Curitiba 2012, and at the Rio Olympics Workshop of the California College of the Arts 2012. She participated in the curating of the 10th Biennial Of Architecture of São Paulo, 2013 and curated the exhibition “13” for the inaugural cycle of the La Conservera Museum, Murcia 2014, and the exhibition “Visionary Instruments” by the artist Almudena Lobera for the ECCO Museum, Cadiz 2015.

From July 2015 until August 2017, she was executive director of the LIGA, Space for Architecture platform in Mexico City, dedicated to the exhibition, dissemination, and discussion of Latin American architecture.

Alessandro Arienzo is an architect who graduated with honors from the Universidad Iberoamericana. In 2012 he designed Archivo Diseño y Arquitectura’s inaugural exhibition “Happiness is a hot (and cold) sponge,” with Rodrigo Escandón. He collaborated with Taller de Arquitectura Rocha + Carrillo, Taller Tornel, and Frida Escobedo, with whom he developed the conceptual project for the Mexico Pavilion at the Victoria & Albert Museum, London Design Festival 2015, the renovation of the Fondo de Cultura Octavio Paz bookshop 2013 and the Public Stage Pavilion for the Lisbon Triennial, 2013. Eager to explore the different possibilities of architecture, he develops research and publishing projects.

He was a recipient of the FONCA Young Creators Grant Program in 2017.

José Amozurrutia y Carlos Facio. TO architecture workshop

TO is the architecture workshop, established in Mexico City, directed by José Amozurrutia and Carlos Facio. His collaboration begins in childhood with musical projects, later in the Faculty of Architecture of the UNAM with the development of academic projects. Later they are trained and collaborated with various architects such as Mauricio Rocha, Gabriela Carrillo, Tatiana Bilbao, Mario Lazo, Carla Juaçaba (Rio de Janeiro) and Fernando Viégas (São Paulo).

Recent projects include the winning contest for the 2018 Eco Pavilion, "Bell Tower", and the contest won to develop the Pavilion of the International Fair of Friendship Cultures 2018, in the Zócalo. They are currently developing a music school in Iztapalapa for the Khitara Foundation, a prototype Water Collection System for the CCHs of the UNAM in collaboration with Isla Urbana and various houses in the Valley of Mexico.

Currently the TO team is made up of Mariana Brito, Ursula Rebollar, Álvaro Martínez, Patricia García and Elisa Vargas.



Our selection