Rewarding "humanism in architecture". The 2017 Alvar Aalto Medal goes to Zhang Ke of ZAO/standardarchitecture

Rewarding "humanism in architecture". The 2017 Alvar Aalto Medal goes to Zhang Ke of ZAO/standardarchitecture
Prize [Jyväskylä] Finland
metalocus, JOSÉ JUAN BARBA
Hutong Children’s Library and Art Centre, Beijing (Architect: ZAO / standardarchitecture / Zhang Ke) Photograph © Su Shengliang, ZAO, standardarchitecture
Alvar Aalto Medal turn 50 years in 2017. In order to celebraty the honorable history, the medal will be handed out exceptionally already after a two years’ interval.
The prestigious Alvar Aalto Medal program has announced Chinese architect Zhang Ke as laureate of its 2017 prize. Established in 1967 and presented by the Alvar Aalto Foundation, the Museum of Finnish Architecture, the Architectural Society, the Finnish Association of Architects SAFA, and the City of Helsinki, this is the 13th time the Medal has been awarded.

The jury, chaired by Japanese-born architect Toshiko Mori, emphasized its focus on up-and-coming young architects for the Alvar Aalto Medal's 50th anniversary year and expressed four criteria: creativity in the architecture, sustainable development in its execution, excellence of design and the ability to place the architecture in a frame of reference that honors Aalto’s legacy.

The international Alvar Aalto Medal jury will consisted of,

The world-renowned architect Toshiko Mori heads his eponymous practice, Toshiko Mori Architect, and is the keynote speaker at the Architecture Day seminar on February 3, 2017. Mori’s office creates architectural solutions that improve quality of life and engage in a respectful dialogue with their particular cultural setting.

Tina Saaby has been Copenhagen’s Chief City Architect since 2010, and she has an extensive history of planning experience as head of Witraz Architects. She additionally chairs the advisory board of the Royal Academy of Arts.

Asmo Jaaksi is a founding member of JKMM Architects. Over the past 20 years, JKMM has notched up a formidable list of awards and nominations. Jaaksi is currently supervising the construction of the new Amos Rex Art Museum adjoining Helsinki’s Glass Palace.

Vesa Oiva ranks among Finland’s most accomplished architects of the younger generation. He is the founder of Anttinen Oiva Architects, a practice that has gained recognition for its expressive and user-friendly architecture, particularly through architectural competitions.

Alvar Aalto Medal, carrying the name of the beloved architect and designed by Aalto himself, was founded in 1967 in order to honor creative architectural work. The medal can be given to live persons who have gained merit in the field of creative architecture in a very significant way.


Founded by Zhang Ke in 2001, ZAO/standardarchitecture is a leading new generation design firm engaged in practices of planning, architecture, landscape, and product design. Based on a wide range of realized buildings and landscapes in the past ten years, the studio has emerged as the most critical and realistic practice among the youngest generation more


Alvar Aalto (1898-1976) qualified as an architect from Helsinki Institute of Technology (later Helsinki University of Technology and now part of the Aalto University) in 1921. He set up his first architectural practice in Jyväskylä. His early works followed the tenets of Nordic Classicism, the predominant style at that time. In the late 1920s and early 1930s, he made a number of journeys more