Turandot in Rome by Ai Weiwei. “My understanding of the world today”

More information

Turandot by Giacomo Puccini. Lyric Drama in Three Acts and Five Scenes. Libretto by Giuseppe Adami and Renato Simoni. First performed, Teatro alla Scala in Milan, April 25, 1926.
Direction, scenes, costumes, video
Ai Weiwei.
Oksana Lyniv
Chorus Master
Roberto Gabbiani
Princess Turandot.- Oksana Dyka
The Emperor Altoum.- Rodrigo Ortiz
Timur.- Antonio Di Matteo
The Unknown Prince (Calaf).- Michael Fabiano
Liú.- Francesca Dotto
Ping.- Alessio Verna
Pang.- Enrico Iviglia
Pong.- Pietro Picone
A Mandarin.- Andrii Ganchuk
Prince Of Persia.- Chao Hsin
Principe Of Persia (Voice).- Giuseppe Ruggiero
Teatro Dell’opera Di Roma Orchestra And Chorus
The Teatro Dell’opera Di Roma Scuola Di Canto Corale
From the 22nd to the 31st of March 2022.
Teatro Costanzi, Teatro dell’Opera di Roma. 00184 Rome, Lacio, Italy
Fabrizio Sansoni.

Ai Weiwei

Ai Weiwei is a chinese conceptual artist, also works as an architect, photographer, curator and globally recognised human rights activist. Born in 1957 in Beijing, he began his training at Beijing Film Academy and later continued at the Parsons School of Design in New York City.

His work has been exhibited around the world with solo exhibitions at Stiftung DKM, Duisburg (2010); Mori Art Museum, Tokyo (2009); Haus der Kunst, Munich (2009); Sherman Contemporary Art Foundation, Cambelltown Arts Center, Sydney (2008); and the Groninger Museum, Groningen (2008), and participation in the 48th Venice Biennale in Italy (1999, 2008, 2010); Guangzhou Triennale in China (2002, 2005), Busan Biennial in Korea (2006), Documenta 12 in Germany (2007), and the 29th Sao Paulo Biennial in Brazil (2010). In October 2010, Ai Weiwei's "Sunflower Seeds" was installed in the Tate Modern Turbine Hall, London. Ai Weiwei participated in the Serpentine Gallery's China Power Station exhibition in 2006, and the Serpentine Gallery Map Marathon in 2010.

The last solo exhibitions included Ai Weiwei in the Chapel, on view at Yorkshire Sculpture Park through November 2, 2014; Evidence at the Martin-Gropius-Bau, Berlin, 2014; and Ai Weiwei: According to What?, which was organized by the Mori Art Museum, Tokyo, in 2009, and traveled to North American venues in 2013–14. Ai collaborated with architects Herzog & de Meuron on the “bird’s nest” stadium for the 2008 Beijing Olympics and on the Serpentine Gallery, 2012 London. He has been the recipient of numerous awards and honors, including the Václav Havel Prize for Creative Dissent from the Human Rights Foundation in 2012.




Our selection