José Antonio Martínez Lapeña and Elías Torres Tur winners of Premio Nacional de Arquitectura 2016

More information

José Antonio Martínez Lapeña

José Antonio Martínez Lapeña. (Born in Tarragona, 1941) He graduated from ETSAB in 1968, and from that same year he formed a professional association with Elías Torres. Since 1983 he has taught at the School of Architecture of Valles and since 1998 at the Ramon Llull University.

Among his works stand out: the Gardens of Villa Cecilia (Barcelona, ​​1986, FAD Award), the Regional Hospital of Mora de Ebro (1988, FAD Award), several residential buildings in the Olympic Village of Barcelona (1992, FAD Award), the Kumamoto Art Museum (1992), the Constitution Square in Gerona (1993), the Rauchwerk House (New Orleans, 1993), the San José Colony in Madrid (1994), the La Barriguilla student residence (Málaga, 1997), the stairs of La Granja (Toledo, 2000) and the esplanade with photovoltaic plate of the Universal Forum of Cultures 2004 (awarded at the Venice Architecture Biennial). He has also made restorations in historic buildings, such as the Monastery of Sant Pere de Rodes (1990) and the Bellver Castle, the Paseo de Ronda and the Bulwark of Ses Voltes in Palma de Mallorca (1993) .1 Likewise, between 1987 and 1994 was responsible for the restoration of several elements of Park Güell, the famous Gaudí work.

Elías Torres Tur

Elías Torres Tur (Elies Torres i Tur) (b. Ibiza, 1944 - ) He is a prominent Ibicenco architect. He studied architecture at the Higher Technical School of Architecture of Barcelona (ETSAB), obtaining the title of Architect in 1968 and Doctor in 1993. Professor of the Projects Department. Partner of José Antonio Martínez Lapeña & Elías Torres Architects, together with his partner José Antonio Martínez Lapeña.

Author of the Photovoltaic Plate of the Forum 2004 in Barcelona, the stairs of La Granja (Toledo) and the bastion of Ses Voltes in Palma de Mallorca. 2008: Ramon Llull Prize.



Our selection