Pass away Antonio Fernández Alba, 1927 -2024

More information

Antonio Fernández Alba

Antonio  Fernández Alba. (Salamanca, December 17, 1927 - Madrid, May 7, 2024) Architect from the Escuela Técnica Superior de Arquitectura de Madrid in 1957. His teaching career began quickly and he joined the same school as a professor in 1959, in the construction chair of Antonio Cámara, moving on in 1961 to be a Design teacher with Luis Villanueva and Javier Carvajal. Two years later he was assistant to the Chair of Elementos de Composición, in which architects such as Alejandro De la Sota, Francisco Javier Carvajal, Julio Cano Lasso, José María García de Paredes and Francisco Javier Sáenz de Oiza participated. In 1970 he would win the Chair of Elementos de Composición, in which he would remain until his retirement in 1997, becoming Professor Emeritus of the Universidad Politécnica de Madrid.

He received the National Architecture Prize in 1963 for the construction of the Monastery of the Annunciation, Convento del Rollo in Salamanca in 1961, carrying out a journey of half a century in which he would carry out projects in which he carried out pedagogical facilities and university campuses (Colegio Mayor Hernán Cortés de Salamanca, School of Architecture of Valladolid, Faculty of Law of the Autonomous University of Madrid, Campus of the University of Castilla-La Mancha in Ciudad Real; Higher Polytechnic School of the University of Alcalá de Henares); passing through the restoration of monuments (Royal Astronomical Observatory, Greenhouse Pavilion of the Royal Botanical Garden, Restoration of the San Carlos Clinical Hospital in Atocha for its destination as the Reina Sofía Art Center, Plaza Mayor of Salamanca, Royal Clerecía of Salamanca, Ducal Palace of Pastrana), the cultural and research centers (Library of the Institute of Ibero-American Cooperation, House of Culture of Vitoria, Center for Biological Research of the CSIC in Madrid, Center of Genomics and Biotechnology of the UPM), spiritual centers (Convent of Carmelitas Descalzas), complexes and administrative buildings (Data Center of the National Geographic Institute), to housing projects, urban planning, healthcare and hospital centers or industrial, technological and commercial equipment, ending with stations such as Portillo in Zaragoza (2006) or the Puerta del Sol commuter train in Madrid (2009).

Among his publications are «El diseño entre la teoría y la praxis»,1971), «Domus Aurea. Diálogos en la casa de Virgilio» 1997, «De varia restauratione: intervenciones en el patrimonio arquitectónico»,1999, «Espacios de la norma. Lugares de invención», 2000, «La ciudad herida, 2001», «El Escorial, metáfora en piedra» 2004, «Las primaveras de Ilión» 2010, «Libro de Fabricas y visiones recogido del imaginario de un arquitecto fin de siglo 1957-2010», 2011.

The Premio Nacional de Arquitectura (1963), is joined by recognitions such as the Juan March Foundation scholarship (1972), the Premio Nacional de Restauración (1980), the Premio de las Artes de Castilla y León (1989), the Gold Medal from the Menéndez Pelayo International University of Santander (2001), the Gold Medal of the Consejo Superior de Colegios de Arquitectos de España (2002), the Gold Medal of the city of Salamanca (2003) and the National Architecture Award for lifetime achievement professional (2003).

He was Director of the Research Center for New Expressive Forms (1978), Honorary Architect by the College of Architects of Bogotá, Colombia (1979), President of the Board of Trustees of the National Museum of Contemporary Art in Madrid (1983) and Director of the Conservation Institute and Restoration of Cultural Assets (1986). He was a guest professor at various universities in Europe and Latin America.

Doctor Honoris Causa from the University of Valladolid (1993), Professor Emeritus from the Polytechnic University of Madrid (1998), Doctor Honoris Causa from the University of Alcalá de Henares (2002) and Doctor Honoris Causa from the Polytechnic University of Cartagena (2007).

He was an Academician of the Royal Fine Arts of San Fernando since 1987 and in 2005 he entered the Royal Spanish Academy, in which he occupied the «o» chair.



Our selection