Building on the past to construct the present. San Telmo Palace by Vázquez Consuegra

More information

Proyect team
Technical Architects.- Marcos Vázquez Consuegra (project and construction management) with Ismael Moya and Ignacio González Ruiz (construction management).
Project.- Joaquín Amaya, Stefan Häring (coordinators), Genoveva Ruiz, Sara Costa, Miguel Chaves, Maria Picone, Valentina Patrono, Fco. Javier Álvarez and Mónica Sanz-Orozco, Elena Laredo (furniture). Construction management.- Raquel Ruiz, Pedro Hébil, Laura Arroyo, Laura Moruno Collaborators: Nick Paul Veint, Magdalena Wadlewska, Martin Kurmann. Artists.- Carmen Laffon, Paco Pérez Valencia. Landscaping.- Teresa Galí (Agronomy Architecture). Archaeology.- Pedro Matesanz (coordinator). Chapel Restoration.- Andalusian Institute of Historical Heritage. Structure.- Edartec Consultores S.L. Facilities.- Insur J.G. Locksmith and Metal Carpentry.- Talleres Vázquez/Jorge Vázquez Consuegra. Wood carpentry.- Dionisio Cáceres e Hijos S.A. and Fabricados Tir S.L.. Glass: Saint-Gobain S.A. Restoration.- Gares S.L. and Clar Rehabilitation Group. Paints.- Apym y Sapra Paint applications Ramos y Morales S.L. Natural stone.- Aura S.L., Euro-Bogar S.L., Pavestone S.L. Desiccation of Walls.- Alecsa. Micropilotage.- Kellerterra S.L.. Air conditioning.- Inclima S.L.. Electrical Installations.- I.F.M. and López Alcón Electrical. Exterior Lighting.- Pierre Bideau-C.I.E.L. Paris. Anti-pigeon treatments.- Rentokil Pest Control. Gardening.- Goyca S.
Ferrovial Agroman S.A..- Pedro Coco, Mateo Ferrer.
Ministry of Economy and Finance. Andalusian Government.
Building.- 22,080 sqm. Patios and terraces.- 3,590 sqm. Garden.- 18,020 sqm.
Project.- 2000-2004. Construction.- 2005-2010.
Access door of Calle Palos de la Frontera, 41004, Seville, Spain.


Guillermo Vázquez Consuegra (b. Sevilla, Spain 1945). Gold Medal of Spanish Architecture 2016, Spanish Architecture Prize 2005, Andalusia Architecture Prize 2007, Arpafil Prize (Guadalajara, Mexico) 2006, Grand Prize of the International Biennial of Buenos Aires 2011 and Honorary Member of the American Institute of Architects, AIA 2014. His works have received numerous awards, among which are the ArchDaily Building of the 2018 Year Award, The 2015 Plan Award, The Chicago Athenaeum Museum 2015 and 2018 International Architecture Awards, 2014 Iberoamerican Biennial Prize, Ugo Architecture European Prize Rivolta 2008, 2006 ASCER Award, CEOE Foundation Award 2001 and Construmat Prize 1989.

He has participated in multiple exhibitions highlighting the Biennale di Venecia 1980 and 2004, the Triennale di Milano 1988, Center Georges Pompidou Paris 1990, The Art Institute of Chicago 1992, The Museum of Modern Art New York 2006, RIBA London 2007, DOMUSae Madrid 2010, BIAU Rosario, Argentina 2014 and The Chicago Athenaeum: Museum of Architecture and Design 2016 and 2018.

Among its main achievements are the Caixaforum Sevilla Cultural Center (2017), the Ministère des Affaires Etrangères et Europèennes in Luxembourg (2017), the Seville Conference Center (2012), the social housing buildings in Madrid (2012), Rota ( 1998) and Seville (1987), the San Telmo Palace in Seville, the Andalusian Government Presidency (2010), the National Museum of Underwater Archeology in Cartagena (2008), the Tomares City Council in Seville (2004), the Ordination of the Maritime Edge of Vigo (2004), the Museum of the Enlightenment in Valencia (2001), the Museum of the Sea in Genoa (2001) and the Navigation Pavilion Expo'92 Seville (1991).

He has been Project Professor at the University of Seville, Visiting Professor at the Universities of Buenos Aires, Lausanne, Pamplona, ​​Syracuse New York, Bologna, Venice, Mendrisio and Visiting Scholar at the Getty Center in Los Angeles. He is currently an Honorary Professor at the University of Seville where he directs the Catedra Blanca project workshop.




Our selection