Inspired by Santiago Ramon y Cajal. Edmond and Lily Safra Center for Brain Sciences by Foster + Partners

More information

Project team
David Nelson, Spencer de Grey, Stefan Behling, Darron Haylock, Matthew Hayhurst, Parul Singh, Kadri Kaldam, Apostolos Despotidis, Joana Santos, Josef Musil. Foster + Partners Engineering Team.- Roger Ridsdill Smith, Xiaonian Duan, Piers Heath.
Collaborating Architect.- YBGSNA - Yuval Baer Galit Shifman Nathan Architects. Structural Engineer.- Labaton & Partners. Environmental Engineer.- EET Engineers. Landscape Architect.- Moria-Sekely Landscape Architect. Lighting Engineer.- Moshe Levy .
The Hebrew University of Jerusalem.
Appointment.- 2010. Completion.- 2020.


Norman Foster is considered by many to be the most prominent architect in Britain. He won the 1999 Pritzker Architecture Prize and the 2009 Príncipe de Asturias de las Artes Prize.

Lord Foster rebuilt the Reichstag as a new German Parliament in Berlin and designed a contemporary Great Court for the British Museum. He linked St. Paul's Cathedral to the Tate Modern with the Millennium Bridge, a steel footbridge across the Thames. He designed the Hearst Corporation Building in Manhattan, at 57th Street and Eighth Avenue.

He was born in Manchester, England, in 1935. Among his firm’s many other projects are London’s City Hall, the Bilbao Metro in Spain, the Canary Wharf Underground Station in London and the renovated courtyard of the Smithsonian American Art Museum and National Portrait Gallery in Washington.

In the 1970s, Lord Foster was one of the most visible practitioners of a high-tech architecture that fetishized machine culture. His triumphant 1986 Hong Kong and Shanghai bank building, conceived as a kit-of-parts plugged into a towering steel frame, was capitalism's answer to the populist Pompidou Center in Paris.

Nicolai Ouroussoff, The Times’s architecture critic, has written that although Lord Foster’s work has become sleeker and more predictable in recent years, his forms are always driven by an internal structural logic, and they treat their surroundings with a refreshing bluntness.

Awarded the Prince of Asturias of the Arts 2009.

METALOCUS > 05.2017

Jung 2023 2



Our selection