Maison de la littérature (House of Literature) by Chevalier Morales Architectes

More information

Chevalier Morales Architectes.
EMS Ingénierie. Stantec (Dessau). Boudreau Fortier Huot. Work of public art / Éphémères durables by Mathieu Valade
Ville de Québec
1920 m²
235 seats
Governor General’s Medals in Architecture (2018). Prix d’excellence en architecture de l’Ordre des architectes du Québec, catégorie Bâtiments culturels (2017). Grand Prix d’excellence de l’Ordre des architectes du Québec (2017). Prix Architecture de bibliothèques et centre d’archives du Québec (2017). Prix d’excellence du Conseil du Patrimoine Religieux du Québec, catégorie Réutilisation (2016). Mérite d’architecture de la Ville de Québec, catégorie Bâtiment municipal (2016). Canadian Architect Award of Excellence (2014)

Stephan Chevalier, Sergio Morales. CHEVALIER MORALES ARCHITECTS

CHEVALIER MORALES ARCHITECTS. Stephan Chevalier and Sergio Morales founded Chevalier Morales in 2005. The firm strives to create contemporary architecture that is sensible and responsible on many levels. They consider the building as an intervention that exceeds its own limitations, influencing territory, identity, and communities. Their inspiration stems from a broader reading of a project’s context, resulting in an architecture that is rooted in its own cultural territory.

Chevalier Morales is known most notably for winning several architectural competitions for institutional and cultural projects: the Saul-Bellow Library (Lachine), the Maison de la littérature (Québec), the Drummondville Library (Drummondville), the Pierrefonds Library (Montréal), and most recently, the Agora des Arts in Rouyn-Noranda. The firm has also developed award-winning residential projects such as the Roy-Lawrence House and the Vallée du Parc Residence.

Chevalier Morales has built a reputation for the quality of their work, which in recent years has resulted in winning several prestigious prizes such as two consecutive Grand Prix of Excellence awarded by the Architect Association of Québec for the Maison de la littérature (2017) and the Bibliothèque de Drummondville (2019). The firm is the recipient of the 2018 Emerging Architectural Practice Award by the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) as well as a General Governor’s Medal in Architecture for the Maison de la littérature. 




Our selection