SFR Headquarters by Jean-Paul Viguier Architecture

More information

Jean-Paul Viguier

Jean-Paul Viguier is an architect based in Paris. After graduating from the Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts in Paris in 1970, he was, along with Jean Bossu and Georges-Henri Pingusson, a founder member of a study unit called Unité Pédagogique 5. In 1973, he was awarded a "Master of city planning in urban design" by the University of Harvard and, after returning to France, wrote a column on urban architecture for the Urbanisme journal. From 1975 to 1992, he collaborated on projects with Jean-François Jodry.

In 1981 and 1983, he won the jury first prize for his competition entry for the Bastille Opera House, and joint first prize for the Tête Défense project. In 1986, along with Alain Provost, Patrick Berger and Gilles Clément he won the competition to build André Citroën Park in Paris, which would take six years to complete (1986-92), and then the French pavilion at the Seville World Expo in 1992.

His agency, Jean-Paul Viguier SA d’Architecture and later Jean-Paul Viguier et Associés, Architecture et Urbanisme, is internationally renowned thanks to its headquarters for France Télévisions in Paris, Coeur Défense, the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower hotel, the McNay Museum of Art in San Antonio, Texas, the first American museum of modern art to be built by a French architect.

Jean-Paul Viguier was awarded the Grand Prix by Moniteur des Villes for André Citroën Park, the Equerre d’Argent d’Architecture (distinction) for the Business Centre in Rue d’Aubervilliers in Paris' 19th arrondissement, and the Architectural Record–Business Week Award in New York for the Astra Pharmaceutical Headquarters in Rueil.


    Knight of the French National Order of Merit.
    Officer in the French National Order of the Legion of Honour.
    Commander of the French Order of Arts and Letters.
    Honorary Fellow of the A.I.A. American Institute of Architecture.
    Member of the French National High Commission for Historic Monuments - Ministry of Culture and Communication (1988-2005)
    President of AFEX (French Architects Overseas) (1997-1999)




Our selection