UNStudio designs a cultural complex, theatre for dance and theatrical arts in the West Kowloon Cultural District

More information

UNStudio. Ben van Berkel, Hannes Pfau with Garett Hwang, Shuyan Chan
Project team
Sean Ellis, Praneet Verma, Josias Hamid, Irina Bogdan, Alexander Meyers, Jeff Lam, Iker Mugarra Flores, Deepak Jawahar, Mimmo Barbaccia, Evan Shieh, William Benjamin Lucas, Caroline Smith, Vera Kleesattel, Albert Lo, Arnold Wong, Emily Yan, Haibo He, Abraham Fung, Mihai Soltuz, Betty Fan, Johnny Chan, Berta Sola Sanchez, Eric Jap, Chuanzhong Zhang, Kyle Chou, Bennet Hu, Kenneth Sit, Kevin Yu, Weihong Dong, Stephni Jacobson, Piao Liu, Francois Gandon, James Jones, Mingxuan Xie, Iris Pastor, Jonathan Rodgers, Kaisi Hsu, Pragya Vashisht, Nora Schueler
Lead Consultants.- UNStudio / AD+RG.
Structure, Civil, Geotechnical.- AECOM. MEP, Environmental.- WSP. Theatre Consultant.- The Space Factory, Carre and Angier. Acoustic Consultant.- Marshall Day. Facade Consultant.- inhabit. Landscape Consultant.- LWK Partners. Lighting Consultant.- ag Licht. BIM Consultant.- isBIM. Traffic Consultant.- MVA

Ben van Berkel, Caroline Bos. UNSTUDIO

UNStudio, founded in 1988 by Ben van Berkel and Caroline Bos, is a Dutch architectural design studio specializing in architecture, urban development and infrastructural projects. The name, UNStudio, stands for United Network Studio, referring to the collaborative nature of the practice. In 2009 UNStudio Asia was established, with its first office located in Shanghai, China. UNStudio Asia is a full daughter of UNStudio and is intricately connected to UNStudio Amsterdam. Initially serving to facilitate the design process for the Raffles City project in Hangzhou, UNStudio Asia has expanded into a full-service design office with a multinational team of all-round and specialist architects.

With an average work-force of 100 employees, 70 built projects and over 100 in progress, UNStudio
has received many awards, the last ones being Red Dot Award product design (2013), Media Architecture Award (2012), National Steel Prize (2012) and 28th International Lighting Design Awards Collector’s Loft (2012).



Our selection