10 years of the new Rijksmuseum by Cruz y Ortiz Arquitectos

More information

Cruz y Ortiz Arquitectos. Lead architects.- Antonio Cruz, Antonio Ortiz.
Project team
Alicia López, Ana Vila, Carlos Arévalo, Clara Hernández, Iko Mennenga, Jan Kolle, Joaquín Pérez-Goicoechea, José Luís Mayén, Juan Carlos Mulero, Luis Gutiérrez, Marije Ter Steege, Marta Pelegrín, Mercedes Pérez, Miguel Velasco, Muriel Huisman, Óscar García de la Cámara, Rocío Peinado, Rosa Melero, Sara Gutiérrez, Thomas Offermans, Tirma Reventós, Víctor Breña, Victoria Bernícola.
Local architect.- ADP architecten.
Landscape.- Copijn Tuin-en landschapsarchitecten.
Restoration.- Van Hoogevest Architecten.
Model.- Jacinto Gómez.
Structural engineering.- Arcadis.
Climate engineering.- Arup, DGMR.
Fire Protection.- DGMR.
Programmadirectie Het Nieuwe Rijksmuseum.
BAM Utiliteitsbouw Regio Amsterdam BV, Homij, Hömy, JP van Eesteren, Koninklijke Woudenberg, Kuipers, Moehringen, Unica.
45,000 m².
Museumstraat, 1. 1071 Amsterdam, Netherlands.

Antonio Cruz, Antonio Ortiz. CRUZ Y ORTIZ ARQUITECTOS

Architects Antonio Cruz and Antonio Ortiz started their professional careers in 1971, after graduating from Escuela Superior de Arquitectura in Madrid. In addition to the transformation of the Rijksmuseum, their most well-known projects include the new Atletico de Madrid Stadium, which will also be the new Olympic Stadium if the Madrid 2020 Olympic bid is successful (due for completion in 2016); the Spanish Pavilion at the Hannover 2000 Expo; the Cartuja Stadium in Seville (1999); the extension to the SBB Railway Station in Basel, Switzerland (2003); Seville Public Library (1999); the Stadium of the Community of Madrid(2012); the Huelva Bus Station (1994); Santa Justa Railway Station in Seville (1991); and a housing project on Dona Maria Coronel Street, Seville (1976).

In 2002 Cruz y Ortiz opened a studio in Amsterdam, and the firm's other Dutch projects include the Atelier Building (Rijksmuseum - Amsterdam, 2007), residences Patio Sevilla (Ceramique - Maastricht, 2000) and Java-eiland (Amsterdam, 1994).

Antonio Cruz and Antonio Ortiz have been visiting professors at the Lausanne and Zurich polytechnics as well as at Cornell and Columbia universities and at the Escuela de Arquitectura de Pamplona. They have held the Kenzo Tange Professorship at Harvard's Graduate School of Design, and since 2004 have been honorary professors at the Universidad de Sevilla and occupied the Catedra Blanca at the Escuela de Arquitectura. Antonio Cruz and Antonio Ortiz have received, among others, the Premio Nacional de Arquitectura Espanola, the Premio Ciudad de Sevilla, the Premio Ciudad de Madrid, the Brunei 92 International Award, the Premio Construmat and the Premio de la Fundacion C.E.O.E. On two occasions, they have been runners-up for the Mies van der Rohe Award. In 1997 they were awarded the Gold Medal of Andalusia for their work in the field of architecture, and in 2008 they obtained the Premio Andalucia de Arquitectura for the Basel Railway Station extension.




Our selection