Kazuyo Sejima designed Laview train to travel floating into landscape

More information

Seibu 001 series (西武001系), also known as "Laview".
Kazuyo Sejima (basic design supervision).
Seibu Railway
Textile designer/coordinator.- Yoko Ando. Lighting designer.- Shozo Toyohisa. Architect.- Yoshitaka Tanase (design coordination/graphic design).


Kazuyo Sejima. Architect. Born 1956 in Ibaraki prefecture, Japan. Master’s in Architecture, Japan Women’s University, 1981. Worked in office of Toyo Ito before founding Kazuyo Sejima and Associates in 1987. Founded SANAA with Ryue Nishizawa in 1995. Awards won by SANAA include the Arnold Brunner Memorial Medal of the American Academy of Arts and Letters (2002), the Golden Lion at the 9th International Architecture Exhibition of the Venice Biennale (2004), a design prize from the Architectural Institute of Japan (2006), the Kunstpreis Berlin from the Berlin Academy of Arts (2007), and the Pritzker Architecture Prize (2010). Works by SANAA include the Glass Pavilion at the Toledo Museum of Art; the De Kunstlinie Theater and Cultural Center in Almere...

Yoko Ando

Yoko Ando. Textile coordinator/designer. Born 1968 in Tokyo. Employed as a creative staff member at the NUNO Corporation after graduating from the graphic design department of the Musashino Art University Junior College of Art and Design. Left her job and established Yoko Ando Design in 2011. She has worked on producing the textiles used in the work of many famous architects, including Toyo Ito, Riken Yamamoto, Jun Aoki, Coelacanth and Associates, and Akihisa Hirata.

Shozo Toyohisa

Shozo Toyohisa focuses on innovative lighting designs using the latest technologies. He earned international acclaim for his fibre optic lighting in the Contemporary Japanese Textiles exhibition at the Museum of Modern Art, New York. He also works in a wide variety of artistic lighting fields, providing exhibition lighting design for the Tokyo National Museum and a number of art museums inside and outside Japan, as well as façade and shop lighting for Dior Omotesando and Gucci Ginza and lighting for public facilities such as Japan’s National Diet Library, all in Tokyo.

Yoshitaka Tanase

Yoshitaka Tanase. He was born in Mie Prefecture, Japan in 1970. Postgraduate in Architecture from the Kyoto Technology I. in 1994. He joined Kazuyo Sejima & Associates in 1994. He joined SANAA 1995. In 2003 he founded Tanase Architect Office He was a Guest Professor at Hosel University from 2006 to 2009. Guest Professor at the Tokyo University of Science from 2010 to 2011. He associates with SANAA in 2013.


Kazuyo Sejima (Ibaraki, Japan, 1956) and Ryue Nishizawa (Kanagawa, Japan, 1966) worked independently from each other before founding the SANAA Ltd. studio in 1995. Having studied architecture at the Japan Women’s University, Sejima went on to work for the renowned architect Toyo Ito. She set up her own studio in 1987 and in 1992 was proclaimed Young Architect of the Year in Japan. Nishizawa studied architecture at the Yokohama National University. In addition to his work with Sejima, he has had his own practice since 1997.

The studio has built several extraordinarily successful commercial and institutional buildings, civic centres, homes and museums both in Japan and elsewhere. These include the O Museum in Nagano (1999) and the N Museum in Wakayama (1997), the Day-Care Center in Yokohama (2000), the Prada Beauty Store in Tokyo and Hong Kong (2001), the Issey Miyake and Christian Dior Building in Tokyo (2003) and the 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art in Kanazawa (2004). Sejima also designed the famous Small House in Tokyo (2000), the Toledo Museum of Art Glass Pavilion, Toledo, Ohio (2001-2006), the extension to the Institut Valencia d’Art Modern, Valencia, Spain (2002 – ), the Zollverein School, Essen, Germany (2003-2006), the New Museum of Contemporary Art, New York (2003-2007) and the Novartis Campus WSJ-157 Office Building, Basle, Switzerland (2003 – ).

In 2004 Sejima and Nishizawa were awarded the Golden Lion at the 9th Venice Architecture Biennale for their distinguished work on the Metamorph exhibition.

Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa have won the 2010 Pritzker Prize.

The 12th International Architecture Exhibition, was directed by Kazuyo Sejima, the first woman to direct the venice architecture biennale, since its inception in 1980.


Ryue Nishizawa and Kazuyo Sejima. Kazuyo Sejima




Our selection