Opening today. Arvo Pärt Centre by Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos

More information

Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos, Fuensanta Nieto, Enrique Sobejano, Luhse&Tuhal (local architects)
Project team
Competition team.- Alfredo Baladrón, Víctor Esquivel, Victor Mascato, Juan Carlos Redondo, Paolo Russo, Evelina Vasiliauskaite. Project team.- Simone Lorezon, Covadonga Blasco, Pablo Gómez, Víctor Mascato, Michele Versaci, Adrián Rodríguez
Project architect.- Alexandra Sobral. Structural engineer.- PIKE OÜ. Mechanical engineer.- HEVAC OÜ. Acoustic consultant.- Arau Acústica. Models.- Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos, METRICA minima SLL
Arvo Pärt Centre Foundation
2,850 m²
Competition.- 2014. Project.- 2014-15. Completed.- 2017-18


Fuensanta Nieto (Madrid 1957) and Enrique Sobejano (Madrid 1957), are graduated architects by the Escuela Técnica Superior de Arquitectura de Madrid (ETSAM) and Master of Science in Building Design por la Graduate School of Architecture and Planning (GSAPP), Columbia University, New York (USA). Are partners of the office Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos, with headquarters in Madrid and Berlín.

Enrique Sobejano is Design Professor at the Universität der Künste Berlin (Germany) and Fuensanta Nieto Fuensanta is an Design Associate Professor in the School of Architecture at the Universidad Europea de Madrid. Both have been guest professors and lecturers at various universities and institutions within and outside Spain. From 1986 to 1991 was Director of ARQUITECTURA magazine, of Official College of Architects of Madrid.

Sobejano Nieto's work has been published in numerous magazines and books in Spanish and international, such as Casabella, METALOCUS, The Sketch, Architectural Review, Domus, Architectural Record, Detail, A + U, etc, and has been exhibited, among other places, Venice Biennale (2000, 2002, 2006) and the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) in New York (2006). They have received the National Award for Restoration of the Ministry of Culture (2008), the Nike Prize BDA (Bund Deutscher Architekten) (2010) and the Aga Khan Award for Architecture (2010).

Among his recent works include Madinat al Zahra Museum (Córdoba), Moritzburg (Germany), Colegio de San Gregorio (Valladolid) and the Conference Centres of Mérida and Zaragoza.



Jung 2023 2



Our selection