Renovation of Renton Library by The Miller Hull Partnership, Award of Honor

More information

King County Library System
Size 19,718 SF
Completion 2015

Partnership, Miller Hull

The Miller Hull Partnership. After starting their careers at other architectural firms, David Miller and Robert Hull (1945-2014) founded their firm in 1977.  They met as undergraduate students at Washington State University, after which they joined the Peace Corps. Serving in Brazil and Afghanistan respectively, both were struck by the raw beauty of indigenous structures that were economical, spartan and elegant in their response to climate and cultural conditions–the very essence of sustainable design.

This early exposure of working closely with people to construct and occupy buildings while making the most out of resources at hand had a lasting influence on The Miller Hull Partnership’s work. The work was inspired by Pacific Northwest Regionalism and they helped broaden its impact celebrating climate, geography and culture.

In early years the firm was primarily known for residential architecture. This was a natural, direct reflection of their strong feelings about the important role architecture plays in people’s lives. Beginning with homes and island cabins, over time the scope of projects has expanded to include everything from water treatment plants, to the busiest border crossing in the world, even US embassies abroad. Their portfolio emphasizes public buildings, but they design everything from schools, higher education facilities, nature centers, libraries, mixed-use buildings, laboratories and corporate offices. And yes, they still do some residential work–which now also includes multi-family and mixed-use buildings.

Their two studios, in Seattle and San Diego, strategically bracket the West Coast. Bob and Dave were jointly awarded both the Washington State University Distinguished Alumni Award in 2006, honoring alumni who have made significant contributions to society through their accomplishments, and the AIA Seattle Medal of Honor in 2010.



Our selection