A conversation with João Luís Carrilho da Graça: "PAST, PRESENT, FUTURE: about being an architect yesterday, today and beyond"

More information

João Luís Carrilho da Graça

João Luís Carrilho da Graça. Born in Portalegre (Portugal, 1952), he graduated in Architecture at the Superior School of Fine Arts in Lisbon, in 1977, and since that moment he has run his own office. Between 1977 and 1992, he was an assistant at the Faculty of Architecture of the Technical University of Lisbon and since 2001 he has been a visiting professor in the Architecture Department of the Autonomous University of Lisbon and the University of Évora since 2005. He has developed pedagogical activity In different universities, seminars and conferences around the world.

An important figure in contemporary Portuguese architecture, his numerous works include the Lisbon School of Music, the Information and Documentation Center of the Palace of Belém, the Pavilion of Knowledge of the Seas of the Expo of Lisbon'98 and the Museum of Orient

His work has received numerous international prizes, among them the SECIL Prize of Architecture, by the University of Studies of Communication and Media (1994); The Valmor Prize (1998) and the FAD Prize (1999), for the Pavilion of Knowledge of the Seas in the World Exhibition; The Valmor Prize (2008), by the Music School of Lisbon; The Prize Piranesi of Rome (2010), for the museum of the archaeological zone of the New Castle St. George Square; The Frate-Sole European Prize for Sacred Architecture (2012) by the Church of San Antonio in Porto Alegre, and the AIT Transport Award (2012). In addition to several nominations for the European architectural award "Mies Van der Rohe".

He has also received several awards for his complete work, such as the International Prize for Art Critics (1992), Order of Merit of the Portuguese Republic (1999), the Premio Pessoa (2008), the distinction of Knight of Arts and Letters of The French Republic (2010), the Medal of the French Academy of Architecture (2012) and the recognition of the Royal Institute of British Architects (2015).



Our selection