Dual dialogue. Toni Catany International Photography Centre by Mateo Arquitectura

More information

Mateo Arquitectura. Architect.- Josep Lluís Mateo.
Structures.- BAC Engineering, Consultancy Group. Facilities and sustainability.- DEERNS. Measurements and budget.- Arrevolt.
Client / Developer
Government of the Balearic Islands (Department of Culture) and Spanish Ministry of Culture.
Obras y Pavimentos MAN. Technical architect.- Biel Garcies.
GFA.- 1,200 m².
Design date.- 2018 - 2019. Construction completion year.- November 2019 - September 2021.
C/ del Cardenal Rossell, Llucmajor, Mallorca, Spain.
Gabriel Ramon. Aldo Amoretti. José Juan Barba.


Josep Lluís Mateo was born in Barcelona (1949) and graduated in Architecture in 1974 from the ETSAB and gained his doctorate (cum laude) at the Polytechnic University of Catalonia in 1994.

Mateo’s practice is based in Barcelona, and he is currently involved in a number of local and international projects such as the new Film Theatre of Catalonia in Barcelona, the new headquarters for PGGM Pension Fund Company in Zeist, Holland and the office building on the former site of Renault factories in Boulogne-Billancourt, Paris, among others.

With each of his projects, Mateo seeks to connect the practice of construction with research and development in both intellectual and programmatic terms. He works in the area between the sphere of ideas and the physical world of reality.

Academic collaborations and teaching:
Josep Lluís Mateo has been Professor of the Architecture Department at the Swiss Federal Polytechnic in Zurich (ETH-Z) since 2002. He has also taught and lectured at numerous institutions around the world, including Princeton, Columbia University in New York, the Harvard Graduate School of Design, ABK Stuttgart, UP8 Paris, OAF Oslo and ITESM Mexico. He was Visiting Scholar at the Jean P. Getty Center in Los Angeles from 1991 to 1992. Josep Lluís Mateo is President since 2009 of the Board of Directors of the Barcelona Institute of Architecture. He has been a member of a number of juries and expert committees, including the Quality Committee of Barcelona City Council (2000-2008), and for prizes such as the European Landscape Award and the Thyssen Award.

Recent exhibitions and prizes:
The practice’s work has been exhibited on numerous occasions thanks to its international influence. New York’s MoMA devoted a space in the exhibition “Spain: On Site” (2006) to its apartment building in Valencia for the Sociopolis Project. Individual exhibitions include those at Ras Gallery (Barcelona, 2009), Architekturgalerie Aedes (Berlin, 2004), Architekturzentrum Wien (Vienna, 1998), Col•legi d’Arquitectes de Catalunya (Barcelona, 1998),Galerie Fragner (Prague, 1998), Galerie Aedes (Berlin, 1994), Architekturgalerie Luzern (Luzern, 1992) and Architekturgalerie Munich (Munich, 1991).

The work of Josep Lluís Mateo has been awarded many prizes, including:
- Top International Purpose-Built Venue 2008, First Prize. Best International Convention Centre category.
Organized by C&IT magazine, London. Project: CCIB-Barcelona International Convention Centre
- 2008 Archizinc Award, First Prize. Collective Housing category. Project: Sant Jordi Students’ Hall of Residence, Barcelona
- European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture - Mies van der Rohe Award 2005, Runner-up. Project: CCIB- Barcelona International Convention Centre
- 15th Award of Grupo Dragados de Arquitectura.


Toni Catany (Llucmajor, Majorca, 1942 - Barcelona, ​​2013) is a reference figure in the world of photography, thanks to a work of pictorial vocation in which classic themes such as bodegones [still lifes], nudity and urban landscape predominate, photographed with a very personal sensitivity and aesthetics through the use of key techniques and procedures in the world of photography.

Catany made more than a hundred individual exhibitions, published numerous books and, among other awards, received the title Chevalier de l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres, awarded by the French Ministry of Culture in 1991, and the National Photography Prize Awarded by the Ministry of Culture in 2001.



Our selection