A spiral residential community. The Vortex by Dürig AG and Itten+Brechbühl

More information

Project team
Partner.- Robin Kirschke. Managements.- Petra Stump Lys and Philipp Reichen. Manager.- Guillaume Schobinger. Project Manager.- Stéphane Hacker. Architectural Manager.- Vincent Wolfensberger. Alexandre Sarazin, Bao Phan, Britta Fehse, Christophe Gauthier, Daniel Beutler, Jean-David Da Silva, Joel Carter, Mario Dias, Patrick Burgy, Paulo Figueiredo, Vasco Georgiev.
Civil engineer.- Thomas Jundt. HVAC engineer.- Tecno Services.
Caisse de Pensions de l’Etat de Vaud (CPEV).
Losinger Marazzi.
Organizing Committee of the 2020 Lausanne Youth Olympic Games from October 2019 to March 2020. Fondation Maison Etudiants Lausanne (FMEL) and The Université of Lausanne (UNIL).
Total surface area.- 30,447 sqm. Built area 6,110 sqm.
Start of construction.- 2017. Completion.- 2019.
CHF 156 million (approx. € 145.5 millon)
Route de Praz Véguey 29, Chavannes-près-Renens, Lausanne, Switzerland.

Jean-Pierre Dürig

Jean-Pierre Dürig (1958 in Winterthur, Canton of Zurich) is an architect at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich from 1985. From 1982 to 1987 he worked in the Ernst Gisel office in Zurich. From 1987 to 1989 he created his own architecture office in Zurich. Between 1990 and 2002 he formed an office association with Philipp Rämi (Dürig & Rämi Architects). From 2001 his office was renamed UAS AG and from 2003, it changed to the current name as Dürig AG.

The office Dürig AG focuses on competitions, as these present the basis of their contracts and at the same time nationally and internationally, as the engine for the creative potential of the office. They focus on public and infrastructure buildings, which often contain very unusual construction tasks or programs. They seek general relationships on a large scale. They see the form as a means to make society, the building or the city work.

Otto Rudolf Salvisberg, Otto Brechbühl. Itten+Brechbühl SA

IttenBrechbühl SA is an architecture firm established in Bern in 1922. It has a total of seven headquarters in Switzerland with approximately 300 employees in total. It is one of the main architectural practices in the Swiss market.

Its founders were Otto Rudolf Salvisberg and Otto Brechbühl, they established the office with the projects of the Hospital Lory, the Children's Home in Elfenau and the faculty buildings of the University of Bern. They became the architects of the Hoffmann-La Roche court. After Salvisberg's death, Brechbühl took over the office until he joined Jakob Itten in the 1960s with whom he grew the company to more than 200 employees. After the oil crisis, the collapse occurred and the workforce was reduced to 80 employees, of which a team of young architects won twelve awards in competitions that promoted the firm with the projects of the Technopark in Zurich, the treatment wing of the Hospital University of Zurich for example.

In 1993 Gartenmann & Partner AG acquired the shares of IttenBrechbühl AG, thereby increasing the number of employees to 200 again and opening new offices and subject areas.

In 2012, the majority of the shares were transferred to long-standing co-managers and the current ones are committed to further strengthening and expanding this healthy and better-positioned company. Its corporate structure is reflected by work processes, specific project programs and appropriate solutions, in which each project is assigned to an optimal dedicated team. Their main concept is innovation, the engine they use to help shape the future and create sustainable solutions. Of their latest works stand out the Zurich Airport Airside Centre (2013), the Head Office of the RTL Group in Luxembourg (2016) and the Ecole Hôtelière de Lausanne (2020).



Our selection