Norwegian architecture in a Midwestern city. New Vesterheim Commons by Snøhetta

More information

Architect of Record.- BNIM.
Cost Consultant.- Directional Logic.
Structural Engineer.- Fast + Epp / MBJ Engineers.
MEP & Lighting Engineer.- Morrissey Engineering.
Civil Engineer.- Erdman Engineering.
Acoustics Engineer.- ARUP.
Sustainability Consultant.- Atelier 10.
Heritage Park Phase I Landscape Architect.- Damon Farber.
Vesterheim, National Norwegian-American Museum, and Folk Art School.
General Contractor.- McGough.
Landscape Contractor.- 2nd Nature.
Vesterheim Curtain Wall contractor.- W.L. Hall.
743.22m². (8,000 square-foot).
Design.- 2018.
Construction.- 2022-2023.
520 W Water St, Decorah, Iowa 52101, USA.
Mass Timber Fabricator.- Bell Structural Solutions.
Brick Fabricator.- Glen-Gery Brick.
Mason.- Berger Masonry.
Concrete Fabricator.- Wicks Construction.
Entry Sign Woodworker.- Jock Holmen.
Glass & Custom frit.- Agnora.

Craig Dykers, Kjetil Thorsen. Snøhetta

Snøhetta is an integrated architecture, landscape, and interior design company based in Oslo, Norway, and New York City, formed in 1989 and led by principals Craig Dykers and Kjetil Thorsen. The firm, which is named after one of Norway's highest mountain peaks, has approximately 100 staff members working on projects around the world. The practice pursues a collaborative, transdisciplinary approach, with people from multiple professions working together to explore diverse perspectives on each project.

Snøhetta has completed a number of critically acclaimed cultural projects, including the Bibliotheca Alexandrina in Egypt; the National Opera and Ballet in Oslo, Norway; and the Lillehammer Art Museum in Norway. Current projects include the National September 11 Memorial Museum Pavilion at the World Trade Center site in New York.

In 2004 Snøhetta received the Aga Khan Award for Architecture, and in 2009 the firm was honored with the Mies van der Rohe Award. Snøhetta is the only company to have twice won the World Architecture Award for best cultural building, in 2002 for the Bibliotheca Alexandrina and in 2008 for the National Opera and Ballet in Oslo.




Our selection