From Old Citroën Factory to new "Centre Pompidou" by NOA, EM2N and SBA

More information

EM2N Architects, Sergison Bates, noAarchitecten. Architect in Charge.- Stephen Bates, Francesco Apostoli, Fabian Hörmann, Baptiste Blot,
Design Team
Jasper Caenepeel, Kirsten Gabriëls, Estelle Jakubowski, Marije Rutten, Béatrice Bruneaux, Konrad Scheffer, Andrea Zandalasini, Jonas Rindlisbacher (model making), Jennifer Bottlang (model making), Serafina Eipert, Damiano Finetti, Sunayana Jain, Evelien Pletinckx, Elke Schoonen, Simon Stroo, Jonathan Teuns, Nathan Wouters
Project Partners
Le Centre International pour la Ville, l’Architecture et le Paysage (Fondation CIVA) / Le Centre Pompidou, Paris, France
Civil Engineering.- Buro Happold Ltd. Acoustics.- Kahle Acoustics. Art.- Benoît van Innis. Health and Safety.- BOPRO nv, Mechelen. Lighting Consultant.- Joost de Beij, Zaltbommel. Media.- iart ag, Basel. Visualization. Ponnie, Aachen; EM2N, Zurich. Consultants.- Peter Cachola Schmal, Ian Cartlidge, Anne Pontégnie, Anna Viebrock. Budget.- €125 million
Gouvernement de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale
Willebroekkaai, 1000 Brussel, Belgium
Total surface area.- 39 100 m² (+ 2 500 m² parking space). Indoor public spaces.- 12 500 m². Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art.- 12 200 m² exhibition space. CIVA Foundation.- 7 000 m² (incl. exhibition space: 1 800 m²). Shared spaces.- 7 400 m².

Architects noAarchitecten

noAarchitecten was founded by An Fonteyne, Jitse van den Berg and Philippe Viérin in 1999 and  is based in Belgium, both in Brussels and Bruges. Their work has been rewarded for its contemporary aspects as well as its historical approach. The conversion of a 16th-century mill complex in Aarschot was rewarded with the 2011 European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Award, the 2011 Award for Architecture of the Province of Flemish Brabant and the 2011 Belgian Award for Architecture and Energy by the Royal Federation of Belgian Architects Association.

The Town Hall in Menen was nominated for the 2009 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture Mies van der Rohe Award and won the quadrennial Award for Architecture of the Province of West Flanders in 2011.

The practice consists of a dynamic and international team of 15 architects with a broad experience. The main office is an open studio in a 1930s factory building in central Brussels, which the practice converted to studio use for themselves.

The three partners An Fonteyne, Jitse van den Berg and Philippe Vierin are closely involved in the design of all projects, with at least one of the partners attending all client meetings and leading the project together with an architect project leader. The appreciation for the work of noAarchitecten is the result of a strong synergetic cooperation between the complementary leading architects working together in all phases of a project.

Architects EM2N

EM2N. With offices in both Zurich and Berlin, EM2N with Mathias Müller (*1966) and Daniel Niggli (*1970) has 80 collaborators working on construction and competition projects in Switzerland and abroad. In addition to a number of awards including ‘bestarchitects’, ‘Umsicht-Regards-Sguardi’, the ‘Auszeichnung Guter Bauten’ from the City of Zurich, the Canton of Basel-Stadt and Basel-Landschaft, they received the ‘Swiss Art Award’ in Architecture. Mathias Müller and Daniel Niggli were visiting professors at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne, as well as in Zurich. Daniel Niggli was a member of the construction commitees in Berlin (2008–12) and Zurich (2010–14).

Their important recent construction projects include the Heuried Sports Centre in Zurich (2017), the Housing Riedpark in Zug (2016), the Lucerne School of Art and Design in Emmenbrücke (2016), the Swiss Film Archive in Penthaz (2015), the Toni-Areal in Zurich (2014), the Keystone Office Building in Prag (2012) and ‘Im Viadukt’– Refurbishment of the viaduct arches in Zurich (2010). Planning has started on, among other projects, the Quartier Heidestrasse, Commercial area in Berlin (since 2016), the Housing Briesetrasse Neukölln in Berlin (since 2015), the New Museum of Natural History Basel and State Archives Basel-City (since 2015) and the Zellweger Parc, Plot D in Uster (since 2014).

EM2N is managed by Mathias Müller and Daniel Niggli together with their associates Bernd Druffel (*1972), Fabian Hörmann (*1978), Verena Lindenmayer (*1975), Björn Rimner (*1978), Gerry Schwyter (*1975) and Christof Zollinger (*1973).

architects Sergison Bates

Sergison Bates architects. Established in 1996, Sergison Bates architects have earned a reputation as one of the UK’s leading architectural practices by successfully engaging with all dimensions of architectural and urban design. The main office in London is international in outlook and staff composition, and in 2010 a second office was opened in Zürich. Both offices are currently involved in a wide range of international projects ranging from urban planning to regeneration, public buildings, housing and private houses.

The practice has won recognition from architectural critics and numerous national and international awards – among them the Erich Schelling Prize and Heinrich Tessenow Gold Medal.



Our selection