Winners of the contest Goverment Pavilion and Auditorium of the University of Málaga

More information

Roberto Ercilla, Alcolea + Tárrago arquitectos (Rubén A. Alcolea / Jorge Tárrago), lecumberri & cidoncha (Antonio J. Cidoncha / Jokin Lecumberri).
UMA Universidad de Málaga.
Local architects.- NEOarquitectos s.l.p.u. (Luis Gil-Delgado Díez). Collaborators.- LOCAL 4 Arquitectura del Paisatge S.L. (landscape) / Inarq, Estudio de aplicaciones de ingeniería S.L. (facilities and energy efficiency) / Calesa Estructuras y Proyectos S.L.P. (structures). Quantity surveyor.- Ricardo Gubía Fernández.


alcolea+tárrago arquitectos was founded in 2005 by Rubén Alcolea and Jorge Tárrago. The study is set in Pamplona, where they live, work and teach. The office's work has been awarded more than twenty national and international competitions and published in many specialized magazines. Recently they received the Premi AJAC VI (2009) for young architects granted by the Associació de Joves Arquitectes del Col.legi d’Arquitectes de Catalunya and they have been selected in the Programa Europe 40 under 40 para Emerging Young Architects and Designers 2010 granted by The European Centre for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies and The Chicago Athenaeum: Museum of Architecture and Design.

Their academic working and teaching are developed in the Department of Proyectos of the ETS de Arquitectura of the Universidad de Navarra, it has been published in several national and international journals and books. Both are doctorates by Universidad de Navarra and actively collaborate in initiatives such as the Biennale of Latin American Architecture or the Congress of History of Modern Architecture in Spain. Currently they combine teaching, research and professional work independently.

Rubén Alcolea, graduated Architect and PhD at the University of Navarre, Spain, where was graduated with distinction in final Project, and Special National award in architecture studies. Since then on has developed teaching experience in the design and architectural projects in the School of Architecture of the University of Navarre (ETSAUN), as well as coordinating the Cultural Activities and, since 2005, the whole Publication Department.

In 2008-2009 was visiting scholar at the Theories&Histories at the Architectural School of Architecture, London, where also made some research and gave seminars. Specialized in photography and modern architecture, is author of the book “Picnic de Pioneros”, abnd has also published several articles in magazines, read papers in congress and symposiums and given lectures in other cultural associations. Now works both in teaching architecture as well as developing professional practice, where has gained some prizes in competitions of architecture.

Jorge Tárrago, graduated Architect and PHD at the University of Navarre, Spain. Has developed teaching experience and collaborating in theoretical investigation in the Project Department of the School of Architectural. In 2005 gets the PhD. Nowadays is the Studies in Chief Coordinator of the School of Architecture in Pamplona, Spain, and develops, teaching and professional practice.

In 2007 published the book “inhabiting inspiration / building up the myth. Studio-houses for artists in the interwar period”. Has spending short stays in la Fondation Le Corbusier and also as a Visiting Scholar at Columbia School of Architecture, NYC. He has also given lectures in Poitiers, Sydney or Los Angeles. Coordinator of the magazine Ra, Magazine of Architecture. Now works both in teaching architecture as well as developing professional practice, where has gained some prizes in competitions of architecture.

Jokin Lecumberri Larrea, Antonio J. Cidoncha Pérez. Lecumberri - Cidoncha Arquitectos

lecumberri & cidoncha. Architecture firm established by Jokin Lecumberri Larrea, Antonio J. Cidoncha Pérez, in 2015.

Jokin Lecumberri Larrea (Pamplona, 1989) Architect, graduated in 2013 from ETSA of the University of Navarra with Honorary Matriculation in the Final Project of Career and with the distinction of the Extraordinary Prize "Don Luis Moya Blanco". During his university studies he collaborates in the Department of Projects of the ETSAUN, as student collaborator of the subject Elements of Composition (2012-2013). In parallel, he collaborates in the studies Vaillo & Irigaray Arquitectos (Pamplona, 2011-2012) and Francisco Mangado y Asociados (Pamplona, 2012-2014). At the end of his studies, he joined the Francisco Mangado y Asociados architecture studio, where he collaborated in the development of various national and international competitions and execution projects (2013-2014). ​

Antonio J. Cidoncha Pérez (Don Benito, 1989). Architect, graduated in 2013 from ETSA of the University of Navarra with Honor Matrícula in the Final Project of Career. Since 2009, he has collaborated in the Publications and Projects departments of ETSAUN, as a student of Architectural Drawing (2009-2011) and Elements of Composition (2012-2013). Master's Degree in Theory and History of Architecture by ETSAUN in 2014, he holds a doctoral thesis as a fellow of the Association of Friends of the UN, in the doctoral program "History and Critical Analysis of Spanish Architecture of the 20th Century". From 2013-2014, he is an assistant professor of Projects II (18 ECTS) and editorial coordinator of RA Magazine.

Roberto Ercilla

Roberto Ercilla. Architect graduated from the Superior Technical School of Architecture of Barcelona in 1976, with an office in Vitoria since 1978. Associate Professor of End-of-Career Projects, at the School of Architecture of Navarra, from 1996 to 2002. Professor of Projects of 5th year since 2003. Professor of Constructive Design I and II of 5th year since 2012. Their work is based on efficiency, optimizing the management of their internal processes to minimize execution times; Creativity, differentiating element in all their actions; The realism, because the projects must be viable and the coherence, with a trajectory marked by the level of the works executed.



Our selection