Barry Bergdoll and Deborah Berke. New Jury Members for The Pritzker Architecture Prize

More information

Barry Bergdoll

Barry Bergdoll is a Meyer Schapiro Professor of Art History and Archaeology at Columbia University and former curator of the Department of Architecture and Design at The Museum of Modern Art, New York. His proficient knowledge of buildings informs his critical analysis of contemporary architecture.

From 2007 to 2014, he served as the Philip Johnson Chief Curator of Architecture and Design, The Museum of Modern Art; and has co-curated seminal exhibitions including “Frank Lloyd Wright at 150: Unpacking the Archive,” The Museum of Modern Art (June-October 2017) with Jennifer Gray; “Latin America in Construction: Architecture 1955-1980,” The Museum of Modern Art, (March-July 2015) with Carlos Eduardo Comas, Jorge Francisco Liernur and Patricio del Real; and “Henri Labrouste: Structure Brought to Light,” Cité de l'Architecture et du Patrimoine, Paris (October 2012-January 2013), The Museum of Modern Art (March-June 2013), with Corinne Bélier and Marc LeCoeur.

Bergdoll is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a fellow of the Royal Institute of British Architects and the Society of Architectural Historians (US), and an honorary fellow of the American Institute of Architects, New York; and has received a medal from the Sir John Soane Foundation, New York. He is on the Board of Directors of the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy, Board President of the Center for Architecture, New York, and has served on the Advisory Committee of the Mission sur l’Île de la Cité, Paris, the Prize Selection Committee of Fondation Le Corbusier, Paris; and the US Committee and Jury of the Premium Imperiale, Tokyo. He received a Ph.D. in Art History from Columbia University and an M.A. from the University of Cambridge.

Deborah Berke

Deborah Berke is a practicing international architect, educator and Dean of the Yale School of Architecture. She is the recipient of a 2019 Medal of Honor from the AIA New York Chapter and the 2017 Sackler Center First Award, was the inaugural recipient of the 2012 Berkeley-Rupp Prize at the University of California at Berkley, and the recipient of a National Design Award from the Cooper-Hewitt Smithsonian Design Museum.

She established Deborah Berke Partners in 1982 in New York City. The award-winning, 80-person firm makes true-to-place projects around the country and the world. Deborah Berke Partners has been recognized for works including Rockefeller Arts Center, State University of New York at Fredonia, New York (2017); Marianne Boesky Gallery, New York (2007); the Cummins Indy Distribution Headquarters in Indianapolis, Indiana (2017); Yale School of Art, New Haven, Connecticut (2000); and 21c Museum Hotels throughout the Southern and Midwestern United States. The firm’s current projects include the New Residential Colleges at Princeton, the Lewis International Law Center at the Harvard Law School, and NXTHVN, an arts and community incubator in New Haven, Connecticut.

Ms. Berke is on the board of directors of Venetian Heritage and Yaddo, a board member of the James Howell Foundation, an honorary trustee of the Norman Foster Foundation, and a member of the Deans Council at Yale University School of Architecture. She was a founder and vice president of DesignNYC, a founding trustee of the Design Trust for Public Space, a trustee of the National Building Museum, chair of the board of advisors of the Buell Center for the Study of American Architecture at Columbia University, trustee of the Brearley School, and vice president of the American Institute of Architects, New York Chapter. She has been a professor at Yale University since 1987 and is a graduate of the Rhode Island School of Design and The City University of New York.



Our selection