Paris architectural masterpiece. Center Pompidou by Renzo Piano and Richard Rogers

More information

Piano + Rogers.- Renzo Piano, Richard Rogers.
Design team
Laurie Abbott, Ken Allinson, Sally Appleby, Francois Barat, Hans-Peter Bysaeth, William Carmen, Mike Davies, Chris Dawson, Helen Diebold, Michael Dowd, Tony Dugdale, Philippe Dupont, Jacques Fendard, Peter Flack, Gianfranco Franchini, Marco Goldschmied, Francoise Gouinguenet, Eric Holt, Jean Huc, Shunji Ishida, Jan Kaplicky, William Logan, Johanna Lohse, Peter Merz, Hiroshi Naruse, Alphons Oberhofer, Noriaki Okabe, Renzo Piano, Judith Raymond, Martin Richardson, Philippe Robert, Richard Rogers, Su Rogers, Helga Schlegel, Jan Sircus, Claudette Spielmann, Alan Stanton, Hiroyuki Takahashi, Colette Valensi, Rainer Verbizh, John Young, Walter Zbinden
Structural Engineer.- Ove Arup & Partners. Services Engineer.- Ove Arup & Partners. Quantity Surveyor.- Ove Arup & Partners. Landscape Architect.- Cuno Brullmann. Contractor.- Grands Travaux de Marseilles. Graphic Consultant.- VDA Group.
Ministry of Cultural Affairs, Ministry of National Education. Centre Georges Pompidou.
Gross Floor Area.- 103,305 sqm.
993,000,000 French francs.
Construction date.- 1971-1977. 1st renovation.- 1996-2000.
Place Georges-Pompidou, 75004 Paris, France.
1978.- International Union of Architects August Perret Prize for most outstanding International Work.


Renzo Piano was born in Genoa, Italy, in 1937 to a family of builders. He graduated Milan Polytechnic in 1964 and began to work with experimental light-weight structures and basic shelters. In 1971, he founded the Piano & Rogers studio and, together with Richard Rogers, won the competition for the Centre Pompidou in Paris. From the early 1970s to the 1990s, Piano collaborated with engineer Peter Rice, founding Atelier Piano & Rice in 1977. In 1981, he established the Renzo Piano Building Workshop, with offices today in Genoa, Paris and New York. Renzo Piano has been awarded the highest honors in architecture, including; the Pritzker Prize; RIBA Royal Gold Medal; Medaille d’Or, UIA; Erasmus Prize; and most recently, the Gold Medal of the AIA.


Richard Rogers. (Florencia, July 23, 1933 - London, December 18, 2021) Since founding the practice in 1977, Richard Rogers has gained international reknown as an architect and urbanist. He is the 2007 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate, recipient of the 1985 RIBA Gold Medal and the 2006 Golden Lion for Lifetime Achievement (La Biennale di Venezia). He was knighted in 1991, made a life peer in 1996 and a Member of the Order of the Companions of Honour (CH) in 2008.




Our selection