Rokko house by Tato Architects

More information

Yo Shimada

Yo Shimada borns in Kobe, Japan (1972), is graduated by the Kyoto City University of Arts in 1994, and graduated in the post graduate course of Kyoto City University of Arts in 1996. In 1997 he establishs Tato Architects in Kobe Japan.

Based in his home town of Kobe, Tato Architects undertakes projects throughout various locations in Japan. The projects are mainly private houses; however, in recent years the office has taken on assignments for interior and installation work as well. The ideology of the practice is to formulate positive outcomes through understanding the subtle conditions and constraints of everyday life, which exist within notions of place, culture and the ongoing history of architecture.

These ideas have been further discussed in publications such as, 7iP #04 YO SHIMADA(7inchproject, 2012)and Everyday Design Everyday : Yo Shimada (Contemporary Architect’s Concept Series 22,2016)

The name Tato (タト)is derived from the decomposition of the kanji character 外(outside),  which can be read in multiple ways. Tato Architects is interested in the process of continuous exploration, in order to achieve a kind of ambiguity in its architecture; an architecture that renews itself through the perspective of people's everyday experiences. Furthermore, the practice aims to create an architecture that quietly alters people's consciousness.

1994 4th Japan Art Scholarship(Aoyama Spiral garden,TOKYO), Special Prize.
1999 1st ELLE DECO Japan award,  Grand Prix.
2004 1st Wooden Architectural Space Design Competition, Superior Prize.
2011 1st Art project competition of kobe Biennale, Prize.
2011 Kanden house design competition 2011, Superior Prize.
2013    LIXIL design Contest Gold Prize
2013    Asia Pacific Property Award Architecture Single Residence, Highly Commended
2013    Yoshioka Prize
2016    Architectural Design Association of Nippon Awards, Grand Prize
2016    AIA Brisbane Regional Awards, House of the Year Award
2016    AIA State Award, Queensland Architecture Awards
2016    AIA National Commendation, National Architecture Awards




Our selection