A multicultural and dynamic campus. EHL Hospitality Business School by Itten+Brechbühl

More information

EHL Real Estate SA.
Tekhne SA.
60,530 sqm.
2019 > 2022.
Route de Cojonnex 18, 1000 Lausanne, Switzerland.

Otto Rudolf Salvisberg, Otto Brechbühl. Itten+Brechbühl SA

IttenBrechbühl SA is an architecture firm established in Bern in 1922. It has a total of seven headquarters in Switzerland with approximately 300 employees in total. It is one of the main architectural practices in the Swiss market.

Its founders were Otto Rudolf Salvisberg and Otto Brechbühl, they established the office with the projects of the Hospital Lory, the Children's Home in Elfenau and the faculty buildings of the University of Bern. They became the architects of the Hoffmann-La Roche court. After Salvisberg's death, Brechbühl took over the office until he joined Jakob Itten in the 1960s with whom he grew the company to more than 200 employees. After the oil crisis, the collapse occurred and the workforce was reduced to 80 employees, of which a team of young architects won twelve awards in competitions that promoted the firm with the projects of the Technopark in Zurich, the treatment wing of the Hospital University of Zurich for example.

In 1993 Gartenmann & Partner AG acquired the shares of IttenBrechbühl AG, thereby increasing the number of employees to 200 again and opening new offices and subject areas.

In 2012, the majority of the shares were transferred to long-standing co-managers and the current ones are committed to further strengthening and expanding this healthy and better-positioned company. Its corporate structure is reflected by work processes, specific project programs and appropriate solutions, in which each project is assigned to an optimal dedicated team. Their main concept is innovation, the engine they use to help shape the future and create sustainable solutions. Of their latest works stand out the Zurich Airport Airside Centre (2013), the Head Office of the RTL Group in Luxembourg (2016) and the Ecole Hôtelière de Lausanne (2020).



Our selection