MAD Architects wins competition to design a futuristic Chongqing Cuntan International Cruise Centre

More information

MAD Architects. Principal partners in charge.- Ma Yansong, Dang Qun, Yosuke Hayano. Associate in Charge.- Liu Huiying.
Design team
Yang Xuebing, Lei Kaiyun, Wang Ruipeng, Chen Wei, Ning Tong, Wang Yiding.
Consortium.- China Academy of Building Research ltd.
Chongqing Cuntan International Cruise Home Port Development co.
Site area.- 66,000 sqm.
GFA.- 65,000 sqm.
Cruise port.- 15,000 sqm.
Commercial.- 50,000 sqm.
January, 2021. Construction of the Cuntan International Cruise Centre is expected to begin in November 2022 and be completed by 2027.
Chongqing, China.

Architects MAD

MAD Office, Beijing, China. MAD is a Beijing-based architecture design office dedicated to creating innovative projects. The firm combines a sophisticated design philosophy with advanced technology in addressing and furthering issues in contemporary architecture and urbanity.

The firm has been the recipient of numerous awards including the 2006 Architectural League of New York's Young Architects Forum Award.

MAD's ongoing projects include the international competition-winning Absolute Tower in Toronto, Canada; The Tianjin Sinosteel International Plaza, a 320M tall tower in Tianjin, China; the Mongolian Museum in Inner Mongolia, China, and a private villa in Copenhagen, Denmark.

The firm has also won numerous international design competitions, including the 2006 Absolute Tower Competition in Toronto; the 2005 Solar Plaza Competition in Guangzhou, China, and the 2004 Shanghai National Software Outsourcing Base.

MAD's work has been published worldwide, and the office has also presented its designs in a series of exhibitions. In 2006, MAD was shown at the ‘MAD in China' exhibition in Venice during the Architecture Biennial, and the ‘MAD Under Construction' exhibition at the Tokyo Gallery in Beijing. In March of 2007, MAD will be shown at ‘MAD.exe' an exhibition at the Danish Architecture Centre in Copenhagen, Denmark.

Ma Yansong, Yosuke Hayano and Qun Dand.




Our selection